Global Sounds

Saturday, 30 August 2014

Tales from the Forbidden City - a five-part series documenting the collaborative NZ-Chinese musical project

Last year, China’s renowned ensemble the Forbidden City Chamber Orchestra joined with the New Zealand String Quartet to commission seven New Zealand and Chinese composers to write music for their ensembles. Radio NZ Concert’s Kate Mead visited the project’s headquarters in Beijing and spoke with the musicians and composers about their lives, their instruments, their music and the successes and challenges of this innovative project.

Throughout August in Global Sounds we’ll hear the music and voices of the musicians involved in the project.

(5) In the final programme of this series, composer Zou Hang introduces his work Ten Changes & Five Variables. And we hear from musicians Wang Yang (sheng), Shen Cheng (huqin) and Zhao Chengwei (san xian) (RNZ)


Zou Hang, composer

Audio from Saturday 30 August 2014

Not all audio is available due to copyright restrictions.

  • Tales from the Forbidden City, Part 5 ( 47′ 55″ )

    23:10 Wang Yang, sheng player; Shen Cheng & Zhao Chengwei, huqin and san xian players; Zou Hang, composer; Zou Hang’s work, Ten Changes & Five Variables