5 May 2003

A new political party to hold three out eighteen seats in Nauru's parliament

10:35 am on 5 May 2003

A new political party in Nauru has won two new seats in the country's general elections.

The Nauru First Party will now have three representatives in the 18 member parliament.

Radio Australia says Nauru's president, Derog Gioura, won the final seat of the 18 to be declared.

In all, five sitting members lost their seats.

While two thirds of the members of the outgoing parliament retained their seats, it is still not clear who will be president