21 Jul 2003

Candidates named for Samoa by-election

4:54 pm on 21 July 2003

Samoa's Chief Electoral Officer has announced the three candidates who will contest the Alataua West by-election on the 1st of August.

They are Peseta Falemai Filitoga, Seiuli Tino Eneliko Seiuli and Tu-ai-au-fai La-tu.

The seat became vacant after the death of incumbent, Ta'atiti Alofa, who one the seat in a by-election after the death of veteran MP, Alii-male-manu Sasa.

Both Ta'atiti and his predecessor were members of the main opposition party, the Samoa National Development Party.