3 Nov 2003

50 Fiji landowning units deemed extinct

1:52 pm on 3 November 2003

Fiji's Native Lands Trust Board has published a list of 50 indigenous Fijians landowning units which it says have become extinct.

It's the first time in more than half a century that the NLTB has given such a notice of extinction of landowning units on the grounds that there are no surviving members left.

The extinct landowning units come from 11 of the 14 indigenous Fijian provinces, with the largest number from the Nadroga/Navosa province.

The NLTB has given people who may wish to prove that a unit is not extinct three months to do so.

The NLTB will take over direct ownership of the 12-thousand hectares of land owned by the extinct units after a three-month period.

The board manages all of the 90 percent of Fiji's land area owned by indigenous Fijians.