26 Mar 2004

US to expand coin programme to include territories

1:49 pm on 26 March 2004

The US House of Representatives has voted by 411 to 14 for a bill to circulate quarter dollar coins commemorating American Samoa.

The bill is to expand the minting of the coins with symbols from all states to include the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands and Guam.

The bill is now to go before the Senate.

The American Samoan member of the US Congress, Faleomavaega Eni Hunkin, says it's only fitting for Congress to acknowledge the territories' relationship with the US.