21 Aug 2007

New Caledonia's Congress elects its second government in two weeks

6:42 pm on 21 August 2007

New Caledonia's 54-seat Congress has elected a new 11-member, multi-party cabinet, which consists of 7 pro-French and 4 pro-independence MPs.

During a brief special sitting, broadcast live on local television, the Parliament elected the 11 members of what is now the seventh formal government since 1999, when New Caledonia was first allowed its own executive under the autonomy statute, the Nouméa Accord.

Two weeks ago a government elected in the wake of the resignation of President Marie Noelle Themereau collapsed within hours after the 3 pro-independence MPs elected resigned saying there had been an error in the voting procedure.

The process was modified for today's vote and the pro-independence MPs got an additional seat.