12 Mar 2008

CNMI imposes entry ban on people from 31 countries

3:23 pm on 12 March 2008

People from 31 countries are now barred from entering the Northern Marianas for security reasons.

CNMI's Attorney General, Matthew Gregory, designated the excluded locations in January and a list has now been published in the Commonwealth Register.

The 31 countries include Afghanistan, Cuba, China's Fujian province, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq and Burma.

The Marianas Variety newspaper reports that in a two-page public notice, Mr Gregory says anyone on the list, who is granted permission to visit, may have special conditions imposed on them.

For visitors, this means they will not be allowed to change their category from tourist to documented worker while on island.

The extension of their visitor entry permit may also be subjected to special conditions.