22 Apr 2008

65 candidates to contest Nauru parliament seats

8:44 pm on 22 April 2008

65 candidates are to contest the 18 seats in the Nauru Parliament in the snap election to be held this Saturday.

Those standing include all the key players involved in the deadlock which has dominated political activity in Nauru since a closely fought election in August last year.

Former Presidents Ludwig Scotty and Rene Harris are among the candidates as are several women.

The election was called by current President, Marcus Stephen, last Friday to try and end the parliamentary deadlock.

The Opposition had been pressing for an early poll, but Mr Stephen says he was finally swayed by the Opposition's irresponsible behaviour which he says was threatening investment projects and delaying key appropriation bills.

The vote in the seven electorates is expected to be monitored by international observers.