5 Jan 2009

American Samoa to get separate 25 cent coin

12:47 pm on 5 January 2009

American Samoa Governor Togiola Tulafono has been told by the United States Mint that the American Samoa quarter is included in the six new designs.

The 25 cent coins are to issued to honour the District of Columbia and the five territories, American Samoa, Puerto Rico, Guam, US Virgin Islands and Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

The coins will be put into circulation in about two-month intervals throughout the year.

The US Mint says the quarters focus on each territory's individuality, and at the same time recognises the common thread that unites all of them.

The American Samoa quarter coin is the fourth to be released after District of Columbia in late January 2009 , followed by Puerto Rico and Guam.

The US Virgin Islands and CNMI coins will be issued last.

The head side of the coin will remain the same but the tails side will depict Samoan symbols: the ava bowl, whisk and staff with the inscription SAMOA MUAMUA LE ATUA, or Samoa, God is First, which is the territory's official motto.