15 Jan 2009

American Samoan House sees all reps get committee chairs

4:02 pm on 15 January 2009

In a departure from the norm, the American Samoan House Speaker, Savali Talavou Ale, has appointed committee chairs and vice chairs from among supporters and non supporters alike.

Of the 20 representatives each has a committee to chair.

Savali has established 20 committees, seven more than existed in the previous legislature.

Laolagi Fonoti Vaeao has been appointed Vice Speaker and chairman of the House Rules Committee.

The Budget and Appropriations Committee is chaired by Vaiausia Eliko Yandall, who served a previous term and has an accounting background.