3 Dec 2011

US issues travel alert to citizens for Pacific region due to threat of cyclones

10:52 am on 3 December 2011

The United States has warned its citizens residing in or traveling to the South Pacific region about the ongoing threat of cyclones originating in the area.

The region covered by this alert includes Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu, as well as the territories of French Polynesia, New Caledonia, and Wallis and Futuna islands.

In a travel alert issued on Thursday, the State Department cautioned U.S. citizens living in or traveling to the region to monitor "local weather reports and take other appropriate action as needed."

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration also recommends that people living or traveling in regions prone to tropical storms and cyclones be prepared.