7 Nov 2012

Unofficial results in CNMI has incumbent Sablan winning by landslide

10:38 am on 7 November 2012

Unofficial results from the Northern Marianas Election Commission indicate incumbent Delegate Gregorio Kilili Sablan has won a third two-year term in the U.S. Congress.

As of 7:30am this morning, Mr Sablan has 9,829 votes against 2,503 votes for his challenger and the Republican Party's Dr Ignacia Demapan.

The delegate post is the highest position that CNMI voters decided on during the November 6 mid-term elections.

Meanwhile, all nine pro-impeachment CNMI House members are so far winning their races, including one running for Senator, Ray Yumul, along with main author and House minority leader Joe Deleon Guerrero, Representatives Ray Tebuteb, Janet Maratita, Tony Sablan, Frank Dela Cruz, Edmund Villagomez, Trenton Conner, and Ralph Demapan.

The only anti-impeachment House members so far winning their races are vice speaker Felicidad Ogumoro and floor leader George Camacho, while expected to lose their seats are House Speaker Eli Cabrera and Representatives Stanley Torres, Teresita Santos, Joe Palacios, Sylvester Iguel, Ray Basa, and Fred Deleon Guerrero

For senator, Senate President Paul Manglona is expected to be re-elected on Rota, while leading the senatorial race on Tinian is former mayor Francisco Borja.