8 Nov 2012

American Samoa's House of Representatives has new members

8:25 am on 8 November 2012

In American Samoa, six new representatives have been voted in to the 21 member House of Representatives from yesterday's elections.

The new members include one woman, Vui Florence Saulo, who will be one of the two members for Tuala-uta District.

House Speaker Savali Talavou Ale, now the longest serving member of the Legislature was re-elected.

One member ran unopposed, Representative Faimealelei Anthony Allen and Swains Island selected Alexander Jennings for another term well before yesterday's voting.

Voters rejected a proposal to change the constitution to give the American Samoa Legislature the power to override the governor's veto of legislation.

Meanwhile, Faleomavega Eni Hunkin has won a 13th term as American Samoa's congressman.

He polled more than 54% of the vote in the congressional race with Aumua Amata polled 34 percent, Rose Tago Lancaster received 4 percent of the vote, Kereti Mata'utia garnered 3 percent and Fatumalala Al Shehri received 2 percent.

Faleomavega says he is grateful for the opportunity voters have given him to serve again.

"Very honoured and very humble by our people allowing me to continue my services in this capacity and I just have to work harder."

Faleomavega Eni Hunkin.

Meanwhile, none of the teams in the gubernatorial race in the Territory polled 50 percent so there will be a run off election on the 20th of November.