Changes recommended for Solomons MP salary-setting body

4:37 pm on 8 June 2015

The Solomon Islands Parliament's Constitution Review Committee is recommending changes to the body which decides on MPs salaries.

The committee's chairman Mathew Wale says the make-up of the Parliamentary Entitlements Commission needs to change following its decision on tax-free salaries for MPs and the inclusion of newly elected MPs in a pension scheme.

He says the commission needs to be truly independent and politicians should not be on it.

Mr Wale says his committee will recommend to the prime minister an amendment to the commission's composition be included in the ongoing review of the constitution.

no caption

Photo: RNZI Koroi Hawkins

There was a public outcry at the salaries decision by the commission which includes the Minister for Finance and Treasury, Snyder Rini and the chairman of the Parliamentary Public Accounts Committee, Rick Hou.

Meanwhile the Solomon Star reports a legal challenge to the awards has been adjourned until August.

Those challenging the awards in the High Court include the MP for West Makira and parliamentary wing leader of the People's First Party, Derek Manuari, an ex-parliamentarian, Waeta Ben Tabusasi, an ex-permanent secretary, Ruth Liloqula, the former Central Bank Governor, Tony Hughes and an Anglican Priest, Father Mark Graham.

Get the new RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs