25 Aug 2012

Essential NZ Albums: Split Enz - Mental Notes

From Essential New Zealand Albums, 4:06 pm on 25 August 2012

Split Enz Mental Notes album cover

Though Split Enz made many successful records, they never made another as disturbingly brilliant as their debut Mental Notes.

Music critic Nick Bollinger discusses this landmark 1975 release.


Adapted from the book 100 Essential Albums, by Nick Bollinger, published by Awa Press.

Music Details

Artist: Split Enz
Songs: Walking Down A Road, Under The Wheel, Amy (Darling), Stranger Than Fiction, Maybe, Spellbound, So Long For Now, Time For A Change, Mental Notes.
Album: Mental Notes
Label: Mushroom