24 Aug 2017

APRA Silver Scrolls finalists announced

From Morning Report, 8:55 am on 24 August 2017

For the first time ever, this year's Silver Scroll finalists are all women. They include Nadia Reid, Lorde, Bic Runga, Aldous Harding and Chelsea Jade. With five very strong songs it's a tough competition.

The Silver Scroll is the one award that really matters to songwriters, Music 101 presenter Alex Behan says. It's an award for songwriting, voted for by songwriters. 

And his money is on Nadia Reid.

The Silver Scroll awards are in Dunedin this year on September 28. They'll be broadcast and live-streamed right here on RNZ. Full details on the finalists here.