15 May 2017

Nashville Babylon 15 May, 2017

From Nashville Babylon, 11:00 pm on 15 May 2017
Neutral Milk Hotel

Neutral Milk Hotel Photo: Will Westbrook

On this week’s show Mark spins blues from John Lee Hooker and Etta James, alt.country from Sturgill Simpson, the Felice Brothers and the Handsome Family, jazz from Miles Davis and a spot of reggae from Desmond Dekker. There's also a track from Wairarapa local J Greg Bailey and a tune from Neutral Milk Hotel's classic In The Aeroplane Over The Sea.

Music Details

Track: Portland, Oregon
Composer: Loretta Lynn
Album: Van Lear Rose
Label: Interscope

Artist: Bob Dylan
Track: Baby Stop Crying
Composer: Dylan
Album: Street Legal
Label: Columbia

Artist: Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs
Track: No Help Coming
Composer: Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs
Album: No Help Coming
Label: Transdreamer

Artist: John Lee Hooker
Track: Gotta Boogie
Composer: John Lee Hooker
Album: Gaz's Rockin' Blues
Label: Ace

Artist: Sturgill Simpson
Track: Turtles All The Way Down
Composer: Simpson
Album: Metamodern Sounds In Country Music
Label: Loose

Artist: J Greg Bailey
Track: Local Girl
Composer: J Greg Bailey
Album: Rimes New Roman
Label: N/A

Artist: Miles Davis
Track: So What
Composer: Miles Davis
Album: Kinda Blue
Label: Columbia

Artist: Neutral Milk Hotel
Track: The King Of Carrot Flowers pt1
Composer: Jeff Mangum
Album: In The Aeroplane Over The Sea
Label: Blue Rose

Artist: The Felice Brothers
Track: Ballad Of Lou The Welterweight
Composer: The Felice Brothers
Album: Tonight At The Arizona
Label: Loose

Artist: Etta James
Track: Good Rockin' Daddy
Composer: Josea / Berry
Album: Twist With Etta James
Label: Crown

Artist: The Handsome Family
Track: Faraway Eyes
Composer: Jagger / Richards
Album: Gimme Shelter
Label: Uncut

Artist: Desmond Dekker & The Aces
Track: Fu Manchu
Composer: Dacres
Album: Trojan Selecta
Label: Trojan