One In Five Index

There are 297 audio items dating back to 08 Feb, 2000 in the One In Five library.

Search:

Sunday, 2 June 2013

Each week between 45 and 50 sailors take to the water on the Waitemata Harbour through the Sailability programme.

Sunday, 26 May 2013

After being knocked off her bike Anne McKenzie was left with a brain injury; she talks with Katy Gosset about her journey and rehabilitation.

Sunday, 19 May 2013

Dina Whatnell’s job is to improve the health outcomes for people with an intellectual disability. She works as the country’s only Clinical Nurse Specialist Lead Intellectual Disability and is based at Palmerston North hospital.

Sunday, 12 May 2013

These days, you name it, the Internet has got it, but some people living with disabilities may only be enjoying a fraction of what's available.

Sunday, 5 May 2013

Aucklander Anthony Towler has been on stage since his early teens and written and directed nine films. His first full-length play Defensibility challenges perceptions or misconceptions of disability.

Sunday, 28 April 2013

As New Zealanders remember their countrymen who fell at Gallipoli and other battles, One in Five looks instead at what happens to those who are become injured or disabled in the line of duty.

Sunday, 21 April 2013

Carol Stiles heads along to The Big Event, a showcase of products and services for people with disabilities and the biggest accessibility expo in the country.

Sunday, 14 April 2013

Katy Gosset meets some other Christchurch-based presenters who taking disability to the airwaves.

Sunday, 7 April 2013

TASC is an organisation that supports people in the mid and upper North Island who have spinal injuries.

Sunday, 31 March 2013

This week One in Five is in Christchurch to meet elderly residents in some of the areas worst hit by the earthquakes.

Sunday, 24 March 2013

Carol Stiles talks to celebrated mouth painter Grant Sharman about his life and work.

Sunday, 17 March 2013

Katy Gosset jumps aboard a day trip to Orana Park with Don Nordhaus - who for more than two decades has been taking people with disabilities on holiday.

Sunday, 10 March 2013

The Renaissance Group is one of just three, private, supported living providers in the country. It started in a garage 11 years ago and is now supports 240 people in the Auckland area.

Sunday, 3 March 2013

The experience of disability within Christchurch's Pacific Island community.

Sunday, 24 February 2013

The Reels on Wheels Trust has a very simple mission – to take people in wheelchairs fishing.

Sunday, 17 February 2013

Otago University's inaugural course in Disability Studies.

Sunday, 10 February 2013

A new model for community living in Tauranga for disabled people who used to live in resthomes.

Sunday, 3 February 2013

Aaron "Wheelz" Fotheringham, one of the world's top wheelchair stuntmen.

Sunday, 27 January 2013

South Africa-based occupational therapist Frank Kronenberg has founded Occupational Therapists without Borders in the hope the profession will become more socially responsive to the needs of communities around the world.

Sunday, 23 December 2012

Katy Gosset visits The Champion Centre, a specialist, one stop shop for children who have developmental delays.

Sunday, 16 December 2012

Earlier this year Changing Times, Changing Places was published – a collective history of mental health services in the Midland district.

Sunday, 9 December 2012

One In Five marks the International Day for Persons with Disabilities. In Christchurch, the date was also used to highlight the importance of making the rebuilt city an accessible one, that meets the needs of all its inhabitants.

Sunday, 2 December 2012

A three day disability arts festival held recently at Corban’s Estate in Auckland

Sunday, 25 November 2012

Katy Gosset visits the McKenzie Residential School in Christchurch, a specialist facility for children with emotional and behavioural difficulties.

Sunday, 18 November 2012

Carol Stiles talks to the people behind the report and hears their recommendations for ensuring the equal treatment of disabled people in New Zealand.