One In Five Index

There are 277 audio items dating back to 08 Feb, 2000 in the One In Five library.

Search:

Sunday, 10 February 2013

A new model for community living in Tauranga for disabled people who used to live in resthomes.

Sunday, 3 February 2013

Aaron "Wheelz" Fotheringham, one of the world's top wheelchair stuntmen.

Sunday, 27 January 2013

South Africa-based occupational therapist Frank Kronenberg has founded Occupational Therapists without Borders in the hope the profession will become more socially responsive to the needs of communities around the world.

Sunday, 23 December 2012

Katy Gosset visits The Champion Centre, a specialist, one stop shop for children who have developmental delays.

Sunday, 16 December 2012

Earlier this year Changing Times, Changing Places was published – a collective history of mental health services in the Midland district.

Sunday, 9 December 2012

One In Five marks the International Day for Persons with Disabilities. In Christchurch, the date was also used to highlight the importance of making the rebuilt city an accessible one, that meets the needs of all its inhabitants.

Sunday, 2 December 2012

A three day disability arts festival held recently at Corban’s Estate in Auckland

Sunday, 25 November 2012

Katy Gosset visits the McKenzie Residential School in Christchurch, a specialist facility for children with emotional and behavioural difficulties.

Sunday, 18 November 2012

Carol Stiles talks to the people behind the report and hears their recommendations for ensuring the equal treatment of disabled people in New Zealand.

Sunday, 11 November 2012

Engineering students get a first-hand glimpse of how their design can impact on the disabled community.

Sunday, 4 November 2012

Sunday, 28 October 2012

Claire Freeman was injured in a car accident over a decade ago and says the experience has driven her to explore how such injuries can affect both the closeness between couples and other family relationships.

Sunday, 21 October 2012

Connie Laurin-Bowie, executive director of Inclusion International Canada visits Wellington as a guest speaker at the first ever New Zealand Symposium on the Human Rights for people with intellectual disability, hosted by IHC.

Sunday, 14 October 2012

Many hundreds of people contracted polio in New Zealand in the first half of last century – most of them recovered well. But now, as polio survivors age, they’re experiencing new physical challenges linked to the disease.

Sunday, 7 October 2012

Mike Gourley recalls a poetic event where, in the interests of recovery and rehabilitation.

Sunday, 30 September 2012

BLENNZ principal Jane Wells tells us about the organisation and takes Carol Stiles on a tour of the state-of-the-art facility.

Sunday, 23 September 2012

A Christchurch performance group that offers people with a disability a creative voice.

Sunday, 16 September 2012

An advocacy and support group  and seeks to make life better for the parents of children with autism and for the children themselves; and a talent agency devoted to getting people with disabilities on screen.

Sunday, 9 September 2012

The National Riding for the Disabled Association is celebrating an anniversary and, with it, the benefits its brought to many New Zealanders with a range of disabilities.

Sunday, 2 September 2012

A project archiving the evolution of New Zealand Sign Language.

Sunday, 26 August 2012

Mike Gourley investigates the future for law centres.

Sunday, 19 August 2012

Carol Stiles takes a look around Hamilton’s artificial limb centre

Sunday, 12 August 2012

Melrose Kiwi Concept Chairs began life in a garage with a staff of four. Now the company's celebrating 20 years in business, supplying a host of international clients, including many of the world's top wheelchair athletes.

Sunday, 5 August 2012

More and more disabled people are beginning  to call the shots when it comes to the supports and services they need.

Sunday, 29 July 2012

Katy Gosset examines the language of disability and how it's changed over time.