One In Five Index

There are 308 audio items dating back to 08 Feb, 2000 in the One In Five library.

Search:

Sunday, 28 July 2013

Helene Ritchie talks to Mike Gourley about her campaign for a Royal Commission into ways of supporting carers, particularly those looking after people with a degenerative illness.

Sunday, 21 July 2013

Due to the earthquake in Wellington that struck just after 5.00pm on 21 July 2013, One In Five was not broadcast in its usual timeslot.

Sunday, 14 July 2013

The World Federation of the Deaf encourages the local deaf community to exert more pressure on the government for equal access to services and information; and IHC Calf Scheme employees and volunteers meet up with their supporters at the National Agricultural Fieldays.

Sunday, 7 July 2013

A dramatic take on being deaf within a hearing family.

Sunday, 30 June 2013

Carol spends time with two BLENNZ staff members who believe music can enrich the lives of blind and low vision young people.

Sunday, 23 June 2013

Disability Studies is an academic field has been gradually gathering support around the world. What does it mean for the education of our disabled students?

Sunday, 16 June 2013

Alison Atwell believes signing is the key to communicating for many people in the hearing community. 

Sunday, 9 June 2013

Katy Gosset meets a blind woman who uses voice software to work as a volunteer counsellor for Lifeline.

Sunday, 2 June 2013

Each week between 45 and 50 sailors take to the water on the Waitemata Harbour through the Sailability programme.

Sunday, 26 May 2013

After being knocked off her bike Anne McKenzie was left with a brain injury; she talks with Katy Gosset about her journey and rehabilitation.

Sunday, 19 May 2013

Dina Whatnell’s job is to improve the health outcomes for people with an intellectual disability. She works as the country’s only Clinical Nurse Specialist Lead Intellectual Disability and is based at Palmerston North hospital.

Sunday, 12 May 2013

These days, you name it, the Internet has got it, but some people living with disabilities may only be enjoying a fraction of what's available.

Sunday, 5 May 2013

Aucklander Anthony Towler has been on stage since his early teens and written and directed nine films. His first full-length play Defensibility challenges perceptions or misconceptions of disability.

Sunday, 28 April 2013

As New Zealanders remember their countrymen who fell at Gallipoli and other battles, One in Five looks instead at what happens to those who are become injured or disabled in the line of duty.

Sunday, 21 April 2013

Carol Stiles heads along to The Big Event, a showcase of products and services for people with disabilities and the biggest accessibility expo in the country.

Sunday, 14 April 2013

Katy Gosset meets some other Christchurch-based presenters who taking disability to the airwaves.

Sunday, 7 April 2013

TASC is an organisation that supports people in the mid and upper North Island who have spinal injuries.

Sunday, 31 March 2013

This week One in Five is in Christchurch to meet elderly residents in some of the areas worst hit by the earthquakes.

Sunday, 24 March 2013

Carol Stiles talks to celebrated mouth painter Grant Sharman about his life and work.

Sunday, 17 March 2013

Katy Gosset jumps aboard a day trip to Orana Park with Don Nordhaus - who for more than two decades has been taking people with disabilities on holiday.

Sunday, 10 March 2013

The Renaissance Group is one of just three, private, supported living providers in the country. It started in a garage 11 years ago and is now supports 240 people in the Auckland area.

Sunday, 3 March 2013

The experience of disability within Christchurch's Pacific Island community.

Sunday, 24 February 2013

The Reels on Wheels Trust has a very simple mission – to take people in wheelchairs fishing.

Sunday, 17 February 2013

Otago University's inaugural course in Disability Studies.

Sunday, 10 February 2013

A new model for community living in Tauranga for disabled people who used to live in resthomes.