19 Mar 2010

Electricity board members appointed

8:53 am on 19 March 2010

The Government has appointed board members to the new energy regulator that will set up the body to replace the Electricty Commission.

The Electricity Authority Establishment Board was created following a ministerial review last year.

It will set up the Electricity Authority, which will replace the Electricity Commission from October.

Brent Layton, who chaired last year's review, will head the board.

He will be joined by Electricity Commission chair David Caygill and fellow board members Peter Harris and Roger Sowry, along with Simon Botherway and Miriam Dean.