9 Nov 2008

Labour Cabinet ministers lose seats

2:19 am on 9 November 2008

] A clutch of Labour's Cabinet ministers have lost their electorate seats.

National candidates have defeated Judith Tizard in Auckland Central, Steve Chadwick in Rotorua, Harry Duynhoven in New Plymouth and Damien O'Connor in West Coast-Tasman.

Mr O'Connor is not likely to return to Parliament as he is not high enough on the Labour Party list.

Darren Hughes, who won the Otaki seat with the slimmest of margins in the last election, has lost to his National Party rival Nathan Guy.

Labour's Maryan Street also lost to National's Nick Smith in Nelson and Shane Jones to National's John Carter in Northland.