Election 2014

27 Nov 2011

Maori Party has fewer seats

3:14 am on 27 November 2011

The Maori Party has lost the Te Tai Tonga electorate and will now have three MPs in Parliament.

Labour Party candidate Rino Tirikatene won by a margin of 1445 votes over the sitting MP, the Maori Party's Rahui Katene.


Maori Party co-leader Pita Sharples told his supporters in Auckland he felt sorry for Ms Katene, who he says worked very hard.

Dr Sharples held his Tamaki Makaurau electorate by a 746 majority over Labour candidate Shane Jones, much reduced from the 7540 majority in 2008.

However he was disappointed with the party's result, which say its vote dropping from 2.39% in 2008 to 1.35% this election.

Dr Sharples said the election result was sending two messages to the party.

He said it showed the split with the former Maori Party MP - now Mana Party leader - Hone Harawira hurt the party.

Dr Sharples said it also showed there is a perception that the confidence and supply agreement his party entered into with the National Party was not good.

At the end of the last Parliament the Maori Party had four seats.

Other Maori seats

In Te Tai Tokerau, Mana Party leader and sitting MP Hone Harawira has held the seat with an 874 majority over Labour's Kelvin Davis.

Maori Party MP Te Ururoa Flavell won Waiariki by a margin of 1820 votes over Mana Party candidate Annette Sykes.

In Te Tai Hauauru, Maori Party co-leader and sitting MP Tariana Turia won the seat with 2760 more votes than Labour's Soraya Peke-Mason.

In Hauraki-Waikato, Labour's Nanaia Mahuta held the seat with 5373 more votes than Mana Party candidate Angeline Greensill.

Labour's Parekura Horomia held In Ikarora-Rawhiti with almost 6000 more votes than Maori Party candidate Na Raihania.