Election 2011 Electorates

Auckland Central

2011: Won by Nikki Kaye (National Party) with a majority of 717.

The electorate stretches from the Auckland CBD and waterfront westwards to Westmere and Western Springs. Includes St Mary’s Bay, Herne Bay, Ponsonby and Grey Lynn.

2008 party vote (%): National 40.08, Labour 34.55, Green 15.47, ACT 4.14, Maori 0.93, Progressive 0.64, United Future 0.48.


Allen Davies - New Zealand First Party List #33

Anthony Joseph van den Heuvel - Human Rights Party

David Seymour - ACT Party List #5

A senior policy analyst at Canadian think tank Frontier Centre for Public Policy. Contested the Mt Albert electorate for ACT in 2005.

Denise Roche - Green Party List #11

Waiheke Local Board member. Stood for the Greens in Auckland Central in 2008.

Jacinda Ardern - Labour Party List #13

Labour's spokesperson on Youth Affairs, Employment, Associate Arts, Culture and Heritage. Entered Parliament in 2008 (list MP).

Nikki Kaye - National Party List #33

Entered Parliament in 2008 when she won Auckland Central from Labour.

Stephen Greenfield - Conservative Party