Election 2014


The electorate covers Napier and the rural areas to the north of the city. Also includes Wairoa and the Mahia Peninsula. Held by National MP Chris Tremain with a majority of 3,701. (retiring)

2011 party vote (%): National 48.77, Labour 29.26, Green 9.81, NZ First 5.58, ACT 1.06, Maori 0.61, United Future 0.60, Mana 0.24


Chris Tremain National Party List #22

Senior National party whip. Entered Parliament in 2005 when he won the seat from Labour.

John Ormond ACT Party List #11

Meat and wool farmer, computer consultant.  Has been with ACT since it was formed and a party candidate in every election since 1996.

Mary O'Neill Alliance List #7

Paul Bailey Green Party List

Debt collector.

Roderick Paul Mana Party List #16

Roy Brown Conservative Party List #6

Stuart Nash Labour Party List #27

Labour Party’s spokesperson for Revenue, Forestry and Associate Trade. Entered Parliament in 2008 (list MP). Great-grandson of Sir Walter Nash and former chief executive of the Art Deco Trust in Napier.