Election 2011 Electorates

Wellington Central

2011: Won by Grant Robertson (Labour Party) with a majority of 6,376.

The electorate covers Wellington city and surrounding suburbs, including Mount Victoria, Mount Cook, Brooklyn, Aro Valley, Kelburn, Northland, Wadestown, Wilton, Karori and Makara.

2008 party vote (%): National 35.41, Labour 34.57, Green 20.62, ACT 3.95, United Future 1.00, Maori 0.85, Progressive 0.66.


Ben Craven - New Zealand First Party List #14

University student.

Grant Robertson - Labour Party List #14

Labour's spokesperson on Health, Associate Arts, Culture and Heritage. He entered Parliament in 2008, having previously been a UN diplomat and a parliamentary advisor to former Prime Minister Helen Clark and former Minister Marian Hobbs.

Gynn Rickerby - Pirate Party of New Zealand

James Shaw - Green Party List #15

Leadership coach and trainer.

Kelly Buchanan - Alliance List #8

Laurence Boomert - New Economics Party

Michael Appleby - Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party List #1

The ALCP leader, he has stood in Wellington Central for the party in every election since 1996. Wellington lawyer.

Paul Foster-Bell - National Party List #56

A career diplomat, his postings include deputy head of mission in Tehran. He is new to the National Party list.

Paul Stipkovits - Conservative Party

Puhi Karena - None / Independent

Reagan Cutting - Libertarianz List #4

Stephen Whittington - ACT Party List #7

Corporate lawyer. Former advisor to ex-ACT MP Sir Roger Douglas.