9 Oct 2010

Hamilton elects new mayor

9:11 pm on 9 October 2010

Hamilton has a new Mayor.

She's Julie Hardaker who received 12,520 votes beating the incumbent, Bob Simcock by 797 votes.

The results represent approximately 95% of the votes cast.

Ms Hardaker, a lawyer who is new to local body politics, says was confident of winning the job, but is still absolutely over the moon about it.

Hamilton council

The 12 elected councillors include eight returned to office, two new councillors and two who have served on council before.

The two are former Labour MP Martin Gallagher and the former head of Kiwi Airline, Ewan Wilson.

Nine of the councillors are independents, and three belong to the Rates Control ticket.

New mayor for Thames-Coromandel

The incumbent Mayor of Thames-Coromandel District, Philippa Barriball has lost office.

She was beaten by Glen Leech.

New mayors in Waikato region

Alan Sanson is the new Mayor of Waikato District replacing the retiring mayor, while Waitomo's new mayor is Brian Hanna.

Returning Waikato mayors

Taupo's Rick Cooper has been re-elected as mayor receiving 139 more votes than his nearest competitor Mark Burton.

Also re-elected as mayor were Matamata-Piako's Hugh Vercoe, Neil Sinclair in South Waikato and Alan Livingston in Waipa.

The Mayor of Hauraki, John Tregidda and the Mayor of Otorohanga, Dale Williams were re-elected unopposed.

Neil Sinclair has been returned as the Mayor of South Waikato.

He beat his nearest rival by 2703 votes.