11 May 2012

RNZ dominates radio awards

3:59 pm on 11 May 2012

Radio New Zealand News has dominated the 2012 New Zealand Radio Awards, winning the major news prizes including best coverage of a news story for its Christchurch earthquake coverage.

Two RNZ news journalists who were in Christchurch when the earthquake struck have been recognised with individual awards. Jessica Maddock won individual journalist of the year and Bridget Mills the best new journalist category.

News documentary programme Insight also won its category.

Overall, Radio New Zealand won eleven awards in ten different categories, including all spoken programme categories, where Kim Hill's Saturday Morning show and Simon Morton's consumer programme This Way Up were recognised.

Radio New Zealand Concert dominated the best New Zealand music and outside broadcast technical categories with Robbie Ellis taking two awards and Adrian Hollay one.

The role of radio during the Christchurch earthquake disaster was also recognised by the judges, with More FM Canterbury named metropolitan station of the year, and Mike Yardley of Newstalk ZB Christchurch winning best talkback host.

Veteran broadcasters Ewing Stevens, Lyn MacNamara and Barry Holland were recognised with awards for services to broadcasting, while the award for outstanding contribution to radio was presented to TRN executive John McElhinney.