25 Oct 2008

Canterbury beats Wellington to take Air NZ cup

9:36 pm on 25 October 2008

Canterbury have won the Air New Zealand cup beating Wellington 7-6 in the final at the Westpac Trust Stadium in Wellington.

Canterbury led 7-3 at halftime to win its first title since 2004.

The only try was scored by Canterbury's Hayden Hopgood.

It was the biggest of three provincial rugby finals on Saturday.

In other finals, Wanganui beat mid-Canterbury by 27 points to 12 to claim the Meads Cup.

It was the first finals triumph in three straight attempts for Wanganui, the home side, who won all 10 of their games this season and dominated the game.

And Poverty Bay completed a hat-trick of Lochore Cup wins with a 26-5 victory over Horowhenua-Kapiti in Gisborne.