11 Jan 2009

Guptill scores debut century in West Indies one-dayer

5:26 am on 11 January 2009

The fourth one-day international between New Zealand and the West Indies was abandoned because of rain, after a sparkling debut from Martin Guptill who scored a debut century.

Guptill batted through the entire New Zealand innings at Eden Park in Auckland to finish unbeaten on 122, becoming the first New Zealander to score a century on a limited overs debut.

His century is also the second highest score by a debutant in a one-day international. The record score for a debutant is 148, made by West Indian opener Desmond Haynes against Australia in 1978.

Guptill became only the fifth player from any country to score a hundred in his first one-day international.

The innings is also the highest individual score posted by a New Zealander against the West Indies in a one-dayer.

The 22-year-old right-hander faced 135 balls, striking eight fours and two sixes, and shared in three valuable partnerships after West Indies had won the toss and invited the home team to bat.

He helped put on 68 with Brendon McCullum (26) for the opening wicket, 144 with Ross Taylor (75) for the third wicket and an unbroken 56 with fellow debutant Neil Broom (24 not out) to push the total past 250.

Guptill helped New Zealand to 275 for four, but the match was abandoned after rain interrupted play for a second time.

The West Indies were 64 without loss in the 11th over, chasing a revised target of 235, when they were forced from the field for a second time at about 6pm. Chris Gayle was not out on 46.

Guptill was one of four changes to the New Zealand team that won the third match in Wellington on Wednesday to level the series at 1-1.

Jesse Ryder was dropped from the line-up after a late night drinking session saw him miss training on Thursday.

Paceman Lionel Baker, one of three changes to the West Indies team, was the best of the bowlers, capturing two wickets for 29 runs in his 10 overs.

The series will be decided by the final match in Napier on Tuesday.


New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Mathew Sinclair, Ross Taylor, Daniel Flynn, Neil Broom, Grant Elliott, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee, Mark Gillespie.

West Indies: Chris Gayle (captain), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Brendan Nash, Shawn Findlay, Denesh Ramdin, Fidel Edwards, Nikita Miller, Daren Powell, Lionel Baker.