31 Dec 2012

Halberg finalists announced

6:27 pm on 31 December 2012

Rowing, sailing, and canoeing have dominated the finalist categories for the Westpac Halberg Awards.

Olympic rowing gold medallist Mahe Drysdale will vie for the Sportsman of the Year alongside equestrian Andrew Nicholson, and cyclist Simon van Velthooven, who both picked up bronze medals in London. All Black captain Richie McCaw rounds out the category.

Olympic success also features in the Sportswoman of the Year award, with gold medallists shot putter Valerie Adams and canoeist Lisa Carrington confirmed as finalists, along with BMX cyclist Sarah Walker who won silver in London. Teenage golfing star Lydia Ko also makes the short list.

Two gold medal winning rowing crews have been named in the Team of the Year category - the Men's Double Scull pair of Joseph Sullivan and Nathan Cohen, and the pair Hamish Bond and Eric Murray.

Jo Aleh and Olivia Powrie who won gold in the 470sailing class are also in contention, along with Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, the silver medallists in the 49er class.

The All Blacks will also vie for the Team of the Year Award.

Two rowing mentors Calvin Ferguson and Richard Tonks have made the Coach of the Year category. Canoeing coach Gordon Walker, and sailing's Nathan Hadley are also up for the award.