29 Oct 2009

PM's Awards presented to writers

5:54 am on 29 October 2009

Three writers have been recognised for their contribution to New Zealand literature, each receiving $60,000.

C K Stead, Brian Turner and Dr Ranginui Walker were honoured at the Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement on Wednesday night in Wellington.

Turner was recognised in the poetry category, CK Stead for fiction, and Dr Walker for non-fiction.

Mr Key says it was a pleasure to honour them and New Zealanders should celebrate success more often.