21 Nov 2009

Members of DHBs review named

8:07 am on 21 November 2009

The Government has named the members of a new board that's being set up to reduce duplication of back-office jobs among district health boards.

Health Minister Tony Ryall announced the shared services agency last month as part of the Government's response to the Ministerial Review Group led by former Treasury head Murray Horn.

He said at the time the move would cut up to 500 administration jobs but save $700 million over five years.

The new board is to be chaired by Wellington Waterfront Ltd chairman Michael Cashin.

the other members are former Commerce Commission chair, Paula Rebstock; Waitemata District Health Board chairman Lester Levy; Brent Esler of the Combined Rural Traders Society in Christchurch, and nurse Chris Lowry.