12 Dec 2009

Former MP to chair Waitangi trust board

5:07 pm on 12 December 2009

Former New Zealand First MP Pita Paraone has been elected as the new chair of the Waitangi National Trust Board.

He replaces Jeremy Williams, who is stepping down after three years in the role.

Mr Paraone, who was born in the Bay of Islands and is currently based in Whangarei, has been a board member since 1997.

The board has also welcomed a new member, Stuart Graham, a police officer based in Tauranga. Mr Graham will represent the family of Edward Gibbon Wakefield.