16 May 2016

Dannvirke couple win share farmer title

9:23 am on 16 May 2016

Mark and Jaime Arnold from Dannevirke have taken out the 2016 Share Farmer of the Year title at the Dairy Industry Awards.

Thomas Chatfield from Whakatane won the 2016 Dairy Manager of the Year and Nicholas Bailey from the Wairarapa won the 2016 Dairy Trainee of the Year.

About $170,000 worth of prizes was given out at the awards, which were held in Wellington at the TSB Arena on Saturday night.

The Arnold's are 50:50 sharemilking 500 cows for Mike and Sherynn Harold and Stuart and Sandra Cordell in Dannevirke and walked away from the awards with over $52,000 in prizes and the national title.

The couple said the awards had been such a positive experience.

"We haven't got dairy farming backgrounds and it's amazing how we've grown, just from hard work and learning, it's an amazing industry," Mark Arnold said.

"Being down here in Wellington has been just so positive, he said.

Jaime Arnold said this season has been a challenge, but they had the right farming systems in place for the tough times.

"We're actually running a business that's really resilient, so on a $4.00 payout we're surviving and on a $5.00 plus payout we're really thriving, it's all about being resilient - it's grass and money this year, that's our focus," she said.

Mark and Jaime Arnold said they have had to work hard as a family this season with the low payout, but were planning on going on holiday with their two children to celebrate their big win.

Full Results:

2016 New Zealand Share Farmer of the Year:

Winner - Mark & Jaime Arnold, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa

Runner-up - Michael & Susie Woodward, Canterbury

Third - Callum & Hanna Stalker, Southland/Otago

DairyNZ Human Resources Award - Michael & Susie Woodward

Ecolab Farm Dairy Hygiene Award - Mark & Jaime Arnold

Federated Farmers Leadership Award - Michael & Susie Woodward

Fonterra Farm Source Interview Award - Matthew Herbert & Brad Markham

Honda Farm Safety and Health Award - Michael & Susie Woodward

LIC Recording and Productivity Award - Michael & Susie Woodward

Meridian Energy Farm Environment Award - Callum & Hanna Stalker

Ravensdown Pasture Performance Award - Mark & Jaime Arnold

Westpac Business Performance Award - Mark & Jaime Arnold

2016 New Zealand Dairy Manager of the Year:

Winner - Thomas Chatfield, Bay of Plenty

Runner-up - Hamish Kilpatrick, Canterbury

Third - Lance Graves, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa

Dairy Manager of the Year Interview Award - Sam Howard

DairyNZ Employee Engagement Award - Thomas Chatfield

Meridian Energy Leadership Award - Renae Flett

Fonterra Farm Source Feed Management Award -Hamish Kilpatrick

DeLaval Livestock Management Award - Thomas Chatfield

Primary ITO Power Play Award - Thomas Chatfield

Fonterra Farm Source Farm Management Award - Matt Birchfield

Westpac Financial Management & Planning Award - Lance Graves

2016 New Zealand Dairy Trainee of the Year:

Winner - Nicholas Bailey, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa

Runner-up - Karl Wood, Manawatu

Third - Olivia Wade, Central Plateau

DairyNZ Practical Skills Award - Karl Wood