10 May 2010

All Whites squad named for World Cup

4:25 pm on 10 May 2010

Canterbury United's Aaron Clapham and United States-based Jeremy Christie are notable inclusions in the New Zealand squad selected for the FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

Clapham was named Player of the Year after strong performances in the national football championships.

Christie has been playing the United States after being released from his contract with the Wellington Phoenix last year.

All Whites coach Ricki Herbert says Clapham slotted into the side well at a recent camp and expects him to be on the international scene for many years.

Former Wellington Phoenix utility David Mulligan has been selected despite not having played any club football last season and being released by the Phoenix in April.

The other player to force his way into the 23-strong squad is Newcastle Jets signing Jeremy Brockie.

Brockie broke a leg during the last A League season, but Herbert says he has proved his fitness to the coaching staff over the past 10 days.

Blackburn Rovers central defender Ryan Nelsen will captain the team.

The All Whites play Australia in Melbourne next week before heading to Austria for matches against Serbia and Slovenia. They arrive in South Africa on June 6.

The World Cup begins on 11 June, with the final being played on 11 July.

The All Whites play Slovakia in their first match on 15 June.

All Whites squad

Ryan Nelsen (Blackburn), James Bannatyne (Team Wellington), Andy Barron (Team Wellington), Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix), Andy Boyens (New York Red Bulls), Jeremy Brockie (Newcastle Jets), Tim Brown (Wellington Phoenix), Jeremy Christie (FC Tampa Bay Rowdies), Aaron Clapham (Canterbury United), Simon Elliott, Rory Fallon (Plymouth Argyle), Chris Killen (Middlesbrough), Tony Lochhead (Wellington Phoenix), Michael McGlinchey (Motherwell), Glen Moss (Melbourne Victory), David Mulligan, Mark Paston (Wellington Phoenix), Winston Reid (FC Midtjylland, Denmark), Ben Sigmund (Wellington Phoenix), Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United), Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town), Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City), Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion).