29 Oct 2010

Whanau Ora providers chosen

8:01 pm on 29 October 2010

The Government has chosen the organisations that will be responsible for the delivery of its Whanau Ora services.

The Government announced 130 organisations that will operate under 25 umbrella groups responsible for delivering social services to at-risk families throughout New Zealand.

The umbrella groups will be based in Northland, Auckland, Hamilton, Rotorua, Hawke's Bay, Wellington, Bay of Plenty, East Coast, Whanganui and the South Island.

The Government has set aside $134 million over four years for the delivery of Whanau Ora. Providers will work with existing services to become more integrated and whanau driven.

But Health Minister Tony Ryall says the money will benefit many families and he expects the scheme will gradually be expanded.