14 Nov 2010

Kiwis claim Four Nations rugby league title

2:21 pm on 14 November 2010

New Zealand has claimed a stunning last-minute 16-12 win over Australia in the Four Nations rugby league final in Brisbane.

The Kiwis were trailing 12-6 when skipper Benji Marshall set up two tries in the final nine minutes, first putting winger Jason Nightingale in with a kick on the last tackle, to make it 12-10 after Marshall's conversion attempt hit the right upright.

Then, in one of the final plays of the game, Nightingale burst down the sideline, lobbed a possibly forward pass to Marshall who threw an overhead pass as he was tackled for halfback Nathan Fien to regather and score the winning try.

The Kangaroos thrashed the Kiwis 34-20 last week in Auckland but could not hold onto the lead in the final after losing Luke Lewis and Brent Tate to injury in the first half.

Arriving in Brisbane, New Zealand had won just 28 of 118 Tests against Australia - and just four in 21 in Brisbane.

But those wins do include the 2005 Tri-Nations final and the 2008 World Cup decider - the latter at the same Suncorp Stadium venue