11 Aug 2011

Commissioner honours Napier siege officers

8:10 pm on 11 August 2011

Officers who played an important role during an armed siege in Napier in 2009 have been praised by the Police Commissioner.

Peter Marshall handed out bravery and leadership awards to eight officers at a ceremony at Napier Boys' High School.

At least 120 police from Hawke's Bay and Gisborne gathered for the ceremony on Thursday, alongside representatives from the Defence Force, Fire Service, St John's Ambulance and members of the public who played a part in the 50-hour seige.

Among them were the widow and son of Senior Constable Len Snee, who was killed by gunman Jan Molenaar. Two other police officers and a member of the public were also wounded.

The gunman later barricaded himself in his home in the suburb of Hospital Hill before shooting himself.

Four officers on the scene shortly after the incident began received awards of bravery, and recognition for leadership and operational command was given to another four.

The Police Commissioner also made a presentation to two officers who have served 28 years with police: Senior Constable Grant Diver, who was seriously wounded during the seige, and Inspector Mike O'Leary who headed the Armed Offenders Squad team.

Mr Marshall says the people of Hawke's Bay are well served by the police - and can be justifiably proud of them.

In June this year, 10 officers received bravery awards in Wellington from the Governor-General.