6 Jun 2013

Ikaroa-Rawhiti candidates announced

7:42 am on 6 June 2013

The Electoral Commission has announced the full list of seven candidates for the Ikaroa-Rawhiti by-election.

The seat was left vacant by the death of Labour Party MP Parekura Horomia on 29 April.

Meka Whaitiri is standing for the Labour Party, Na Raihania for the Maori Party, Te Hamua Nikora for Mana, Marama Davidson for the Green Party and Michael Appleby for the Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party.

There are also two independent candidates - Adam Holland and Maurice Wairau.

National and New Zealand First are not contesting the seat.

The by-election is being held following the death of Labour Party MP Parekura Horomia, who died in March this year.

Maori Party candidate Na Raihania says he is representing a party which is already in Government and can make change.

He says the other candidates should be honest about what they are promising and how long it will be before they can deliver.

Labour candidate Meka Whaitiri says while the Maori Party may be a support partner, its ministers are not at the Cabinet table where change happens.

The Mana and Green parties say the race for the seat is wide open, as it was Mr Horomia's seat, not Labour's.

The by-election will be held on Saturday 29 June, with advance voting available from Wednesday 12 June.