18 Jul 2009

Series of hui on Maori flag begins

9:12 pm on 18 July 2009

The first of 21 hui to discuss an official Maori flag was held in Kaitaia on Saturday.

The Transport Agency allows only the national flag to be flown from the Auckland Harbour Bridge on Waitangi Day.

However, Prime Minister John Key has asked Maori to consult over which flag they most identify with, indicating that the rules may be changed in 2010.

There are four options available: the Tino Rangatiratanga flag, the Independant Tribes flag, the red ensign and the New Zealand flag.

The hui began at 10am at Rangikohu Marae.