27 May 2010

Establishment board named for new market regulator

6:05 am on 27 May 2010

Commerce Minister Simon Power says he's confident the board charged with setting up a new super regulator has the right mix of skills to get the job done.

A nine-member establishment board will oversee the set up of the Financial Markets Authority, which Mr Power intends to have operating by early next year.

He says the board, which includes Securities Commission member Simon Botherway, Shareholders Association Bruce Sheppard and former Commerce Commission chair Paula Rebstock, has the experience and expertise to meet a tight deadline.

Other members are: First NZ Capital chief executive Scott St John, NZX chairman Andrew Harmos, Registrar of Companies head Neville Harris, Securities Commission member Shelley Cave, corporate lawyer Frank McLaughlin and Westpac counsel Mariette van Ryn.