20 Nov 2010

Labour's Faafoi wins Mana by-election

10:35 pm on 20 November 2010

The Labour Party is claiming victory after its candidate Kris Faafoi won the Mana by-election by 1080 votes.

But the National Party is also hailing the result a victory after its list MP Hekia Parata dramatically reduced Labour's majority from more than 6000 under its former MP, Winnie Laban who left parliament to take up a job at Victoria University.

Mr Faafoi has 10,397 votes and Mrs Parata received 9317 votes.

Kris Faafoi says he won the by-election through hard work and he is happy with the win despite Labour's reduced majority.


He said he was very proud to be the country's first MP of Tokeleaun descent.

Mr Faafoi says his hard work will continue through to next year's general election when he hopes to claw back some of Labour's majority.

Mr Faafoi is a former political reporter for Television New Zealand and has been working at Parliament as the chief press secretary for the leader of the Labour Party. He is a first time candidate.

National Party supporters were ecstatic with Hekia Parata's performance in cutting Labour's majority so dramatically.

Mrs Parata says a lot of effort went into her campaign.


Green's Jan Logie received 1493 votes while independent candidate Matt McCarten received 816 votes.

Receiving fewer than 150 votes were ACT's Colin du Plessis, Kelly Buchanan of the Alliance, Julian Crawford of the Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party and Libertarianz's Sean Fitzpatrick.

The Mana electorate to the north of Wellington includes Porirua City, Titahi Bay, Paremata, Plimmerton and the Kapiti Coast settlements of Pukerua Bay, Paekakariki and Raumati Beach.