6 Aug 2011

Mana Party to contest all seven Maori seats

5:16 pm on 6 August 2011

The Mana Party says it will contest all seven Maori seats and as many general electorates as possible in the November election.

The party, led by MP Hone Harawira, has held its first annual general meeting at Piringatahi marae in Auckland on Saturday.

About 150 people reconfirmed Hone Harawira as the leader of the Mana Party and activist John Minto has been appointed as joint vice-president alongside lawyer Annette Sykes.

The party has outlined its key draft policies: abolishing GST, compulsory te reo in schools and establishing an independent Treaty of Waitangi commissioner to oversee historic claims.

Mr Harawira says they will ensure the best people are put forward to contest the seats held by the Maori Party co-leaders Dr Pita Sharples and Tariana Turia.

He says the Mana list will feature some high profile people.

The party will announce its candidates for the Maori seats on 14 September and those standing for general seats will be announced in October.