18 Oct 2011

National draws up short-list for Tamaki

6:14 pm on 18 October 2011

A short-list of five people has been drawn up by the National Party as it looks for a new candidate in the safe Auckland seat of Tamaki.

Tamaki MP Allan Peachey has withdrawn as an election candidate due to ill health. He won the seat in 2008 with a majority of 17,020.

The nominees include Mark Thomas, who stood unsuccessfully for National in Wellington Central in 1996.

Denise Krum, who is ranked 69 on National's party list, is also a nominee. She is a former United Future party president, and was third on their list at the last election in 2008.

The other names on the short-list are Toni Millar, Simon O'Connor and Seby Reeves.

The final selection will take place on 26 October.