9 Oct 2011

Southern hemisphere sides in action

2:12 pm on 9 October 2011

Southern hemisphere teams take centre stage on Sunday with Australia tackling defending champions South Africa and the All Blacks taking on Argentina in the Rugby World Cup quarter-finals.

Despite being overwhelming favourites against Argentina, All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw said there were a few nerves around the New Zealand camp, but said the team could not wait to get on the pitch at Eden Park.

McCaw insisted a foot injury will not hamper his game, saying he is "good to go". Colin Slade will also be under the spotlight as he steps in for Dan Carter who was ruled out of the tournament with a groin injury last week.

The Springboks' encounter with the Wallabies in Wellington is predicted to be a much tighter affair and could be decided by the battle between the two back rows for dominance at the breakdown.

France and Wales will meet in the semi finals next Saturday following victories on Saturday over England and Ireland.

The draw now ensures a final between the southern and northern hemispheres.


South Africa starting XV: Pat Lambie, JP Pietersen, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Pierre Spies, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brussow, Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, Jannie du Plessis, John Smit (captain), Gurthro Steenkamp.

Reserves: Bismarck du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Willem Alberts, Francois Louw, Francois Hougaard, Butch James, Gio Aplon.

Australia starting XV: Kurtley Beale, James O'Connor, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Pat McCabe, Digby Ioane, Quade Cooper, Will Genia, Radike Samo, David Pocock, Rocky Elsom, James Horwill (captain), Dan Vickerman, Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore, Sekope Kepu.

Reserves: Tatafu Polota-Nau, James Slipper, Nathan Sharpe, Ben McCalman, Luke Burgess, Berrick Barnes, Anthony Fainga'a.

All Blacks starting XV: Mils Muliaina, Cory Jane, Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu, Sonny Bill Williams, Colin Slade, Piri Weepu, Kieran Read, Richie McCaw (captain), Jerome Kaino, Brad Thorn, Sam Whitelock, Owen Franks, Keven Mealamu, Tony Woodcock

Reserves: Andrew Hore, Ben Franks, Ali Williams, Victor Vito, Jimmy Cowan, Aaron Cruden, Isaia Toeava.

Argentina starting XV: Martin Rodriguez, Gonzalo Camacho, Marcelo Bosch, Felipe Contepomi (captain), Horacio Agulla, Santiago Fernandez, Nicolas Vergallo, Leonardo Senatore, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Julio Farias Cabello, Patricio Albacete, Manuel Carizza, Juan Figallo, Mario Ledesma, Rodrigo Roncero.

Reserves: Agustin Creevy, Martin Scelzo, Marcos Ayerza, Alejandro Campos, Alfredo Lalanne, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Juan Jose Imhoff.