12 Mar 2013

Rural awards round the regions

6:38 pm on 12 March 2013

Te Awamutu sharemilkers Andrew and Michelle McPherson have won the Waikato region's sharemilker-equity farmer of the year title in the annual dairy industry awards.

Gary McFarlane is the Waikato Farm Manager of the Year, and Thomas Herbert, the Dairy Trainee of the Year.

A Whakatane couple, Russell and Nadine Meade have won the Bay of Plenty Sharemilker title.

The farm manager and dairy trainee awards have gone to Chris Mexted and Thomas Chatfield.

A hill country farming couple from Waituna West north fo Feilding, Curwen and Marija Hare, have won the supreme prize in the Manawatu farm environment awards.


This year's most tender and tasty lamb comes from a Gisborne farm.

Mangapoike Ltd, represented by Pat Sheriff, has won the annual Glammies award, beating more than 180 other entries.

Blue ribbon butchers

New Zealand's Wedderburn Sharp Blacks has won the Tri Nations butchery contest.

The team beat last year's champions, Australia, and newcomers, Britain.

Each team had to create a butchery display from a side of beef and a whole lamb.