3 Apr 2011

NZ Open shearing result

9:07 pm on 3 April 2011

Rowland Smith of Hawke's Bay has won the New Zealand Open shearing title in Te Kuiti.

Smith won by almost three points from world champion Cam Ferguson of Waipawa, while Jerome McCrea was third.

John Kirkpatrick of Napier took time honours by nine seconds in the final, but lost points for poorer quality shearing and eventually ended in fifth place.

Smith also won the North Island shearer of the year title.

Brothers Bevan, Bryce and Marshall Kaeo won the senior, junior and novice shearing finals. The intermediate title went to Brett Roberts of Mataura.

International woolhandling star and Taihape schoolteacher, Sheree Alabaster, won her fifth New Zealand Open title in Te Kuiti.

The senior woolhandling title was won by Emma Bolton, of Taihape, and the junior title by Flaxmere woolhandler Rahna Watson-Paul.

In the other major event, David Fagan and Cam Ferguson completed a 3-0 test series win over Welshmen Gareth Daniel and Wyn Jones in the pairs last appearance together as the 2010 World Championships team.

But David Fagan's not about to retire, and confirmed that at the age of 50 he'll be trying to get back into the team next year.