4 Sep 2012

Pakistan protest Test Cricketer of the Year award

6:04 am on 4 September 2012

Pakistan have lodged a protest with cricket's governing body over the exclusion of offspinner Saeed Ajmal from the shortlist of an annual award, saying they hope his name will be included after a review.

The 34-year-old's name did not feature among the four nominees for the coveted Test Cricketer of the Year award despite being Test cricket's leading wicket-taker in the period under consideration.

South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara and Australia's Michael Clarke all made the list.

The International Cricket Council holds the annual awards ceremony to recognise the best players and umpire in international cricket.

Ajmal took 72 wickets in the 12-month period, including 24 in Pakistan's 3-0 rout of then world number one Test team England earlier this year.