2 Oct 2012

Barba missing from Kangeroos squad

5:01 pm on 2 October 2012

The National Rugby League premiers Melbourne have had four players selected in the Australian team to take on New Zealand in the October 13th rugby league Test in Townsville.

Tryscoring second-rower Ryan Hoffman has been rewarded for his excellent season with inclusion alongside the Storm's big three of Billy Slater, Clive Churchill Medallist Cooper Cronk and skipper Cameron Smith.

In-form Canterbury stars Ben Barba and Josh Reynolds were left out of the team, with Wests Tigers captain Robbie Farah filling the utility role on the interchange bench.

Despite their State of Origin victory, Queensland haven't enjoyed the dominance in selection they have in recent years - with nine Maroons players picked plus 18th man Ben Te'o.

Kangaroos: Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Josh Morris, Greg Inglis, Brett Morris, Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith (capt), James Tamou, Greg Bird, Paul Gallen, Nate Myles. Interchange: Robbie Farah, Ryan Hoffman, David Shillington, Tony Williams, Ben Te'o (18th man).