22 Nov 2012

Etzebeth cleared of foul play

6:22 am on 22 November 2012

The Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has been cleared of foul play following an incident in their match against Scotland at the weekend.

Etzebeth was cited for allegedly making contact "with the eye or eye area" of Scotland first-five Greig Laidlaw in the match at Murrayfield.

The IRB Judicial Officer ruled that the contact in the area of the Scotland player's eyes was accidental, and as such did not constitute foul play.

As a result, Etzebeth is available to play in this weekend's match against England at Twickenham.