4 Dec 2012

Australian winner disqualified in NZ Ocean Swim Series

3:08 pm on 4 December 2012

The winner of the Waitemata leg of the New Zealand Ocean Swim series, Australian Trent Grimsey has been disqualified.

Grimsey won Sunday's 2.9km race by more than a minute but has now been disqualified for deliberately obstructing another swimmer, a third of the way through the race.

Grimsey's disqualification means fellow Australian Ky Hurst is promoted to first.